Flooding Emergency Declared for services affected by recent weather event

The Federal Department of Education Skills and Training (DESE) have confirmed that they have declared a period of emergency for parts of NSW that have been affected by recent severe weather and flooding. 

DESE have advised that the period of emergency applies from 1 to 13 July for families and services in the following Local Government Areas:

Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Fairfield, Georges River, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Kiama, Lithgow, Liverpool, Northern Beaches, Penrith, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Sutherland, The Hills, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong, and (unincorporated territory) Jervis Bay.

An addional six areas were added, effective 4 July:

Bayside, Dungog, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Singleton and Upper Lachlan.

The period of emergency now applies until 20 July 2022 for the following Local Government Areas (LGAs):

Central Coast, Cessnock, Hawkesbury, The Hills Shire, Hornsby, Lake Macquarie, Maitland, Port Stephens, Singleton.

If you are required to to close your service as a direct result of the emergency, you will still be entitled to receive CCS.

In additon, you can waive gap fees if a child doesn't attend or if your service is closed, during the emergency.

Further, extra abscences will apply for the duration of the emergency period. 

Should you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact our team on 1300 556 330 or at nsw@childcarealliance.org.au. 



​UPDATED: 13 JULY 2022